Settlement

Settlement-FXE27330-1920×768-1024×410

LMNH offers a variety of FREE Settlement Programs and services to provide assistance and support to newcomers during their initial settlement in Canada.

Susan Schachter, Settlement Services Manager
604.879.7104 ext 303
susan_schachter@lmnhs.bc.ca

Carmen Miranda-Barrios
Settlement Services Supervisor
604.879.7104 ext 313, carmen_miranda@lmnhs.bc.ca

Alma Saplala
Filipino Settlement Worker
604-879-7104 ext 309
alma_saplala@lmnhs.bc.ca

Annie Yu
Chinese Settlement Worker
604-879-7104 ext 314
annie_yu@lmnhs.bc.ca

Arely Rodriguez
Latin American Settlement Worker
604-879-7104 ext 413
arely_rodriguez@lmnhs.bc.ca

Kim Dang
Vietnamese Settlement Worker
604-879-7104 ext. 312
kim_dang@lmnhs.bc.ca

Silva Abkarian
Arabic Settlement Worker
604-879-7104 ext. 320
silva_abkarian@lmnhs.bc.ca

Wen Ren
Chinese Settlement Worker
604-879-7104 ext 321
wen_rene@lmnhs.bc.ca

Amy Wei
LINC Operations Coordinator
604.879.7104 ext. 308
amy_wei@lmnhs.bc.ca

Lili Gong
LINC Program Assistant
604.879.7104 ext. 323
lili_gong@lmnhs.bc.ca

Programs

Canadian Systems and Culture

This program will explore varied issues that affect new immigrant families, and which will help them successfully resettle in Canada.

Filipino

Information Session on Family Child Care Business
When: TBA

Explore New Food
When: TBA

Where: LMNH
Contact: Alma

Citizenship Education

This program prepares newcomers for their citizenship exams.

When : TBA
Where : LMNH
Contact: Alma or Arely

Conversation Circles and Life Skills for Syrian Families

Conversation Circles and Life Skills is a program for permanent residents with an Arabic background. Summer topics include: driving, VPL, healthy living and much more.

When: TBA
Where: LMNH
Contact: Silva

Community Kitchen for Syrian Families

Newcomers from Arabic backgrounds learn new recipes and connect with Syrian families. Physical literacy for children provided.

When: TBA
Where: LMNH
Contact: Silva

Language Programs

Language Instruction for Newcomers to Canada (LINC)
Free basic English language courses to adult permanent residents.
Level 2 (beginner) to
Level 6 (Intermediate)

Morning and afternoon classes are available. You will learn English to help you with living your life in Canada, & making friends. You will learn about health care, job market, Canadian Laws & many things that are important for life in Canada.

Registration required.
Contact: Amy

CLB Level 2 (pm)
CLB Level 3 (am)
CLB Level 4 (am)
CLB Level 4 (pm)
CLB Level 5 (am)
CLB Level 4/5 (pm)
CLB Level 6 (am)
Mon-Thu
Mon-Thu
Mon-Thu
Mon-Thu
Mon-Thu
Mon-Thu
Mon-Thu
1-4pm; LMNH
9:15am-12:15pm; LMNH
9:15am-12:15pm; Bethel Church
1-4pm; LMNH
9:15am-12:15pm; LMNH
1-4pm; Bethel Church
9:15-12:15pm; Fountain Alliance Church

*Programs funded in full or in part by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada.

Priority will be given to Eligible Newcomers.